Details of Mopaca

This is what I’m calling my Easter egg yarn.  I found it way in the back room of Mopaca near all the alpacas!  There was a lady there crocheting, and she had several hanks for sale, as well as some finished crochet pieces.

She was kind enough to explain to me that she had hand-dyed the yarn.   She said that she rolled it in a ball and put it in the blue dye, but only sitting it there to rest.  Then she said she rewound it and put it in the  mauve.  She said that by only setting it in the dye it made the variations of color.  Whatever she did, it’s beautiful.  It’s a 2 ply, 100 % alpaca, and about 200 yards.  It’s probably somewhere between sock and light fingering weight.  I know I can make socks out of 200 yards, but I’m not sure if this wants to be socks yet.

This is the other hank that came home with me; I’m calling it my sparkly alpaca yarn.  I’m not sure if you can see the sparkles here, but I think they showed up in the close up from yesterday.

Again, this is a 2 ply, but one of the plies is a silver thread.  It’s 80% baby alpaca and 20% tencel, and it came from the Whirlwind Ranch booth.

Remember those pants?  Here they are in action:

Well, sort of in action.  I think he was starting to fall asleep here.  I finished up the blue pair as well, but I didn’t get a picture of those yet.  I did try them on him though, and whew, they’re too big, which means he has something to grow into.  I’m hoping now that the fallish pair that I made for him to wear in the fall will fit him through the spring, and the blue pair will replace the fall ones for the fall.  Make sense?

Wavy Socks update: I finally remembered to take a picture!  Please ignore the baby toes on the left.  Or not; they’re awful cute.

Aren’t they pretty?  I love love love that Jojoland Melody stuff.  The colors look in the picture a little vibrant; in real life they’re more pastel.   I haven’t been working on these as of lately though.  I’ve been dividing my time between Patrick’s dragon and my Slippery socks.  Both are almost done.  Patrick’s birthday is in a week, but his party is Saturday.  All I have left to do is to sew all 4 legs on, sew the wings on, and crochet some fun fur up and down the sides a bit.  And hubby says he should have fangs too.  We’ll see.  It’s turning out rather cute, and I’ll be sure to post a pic of the birthday boy with his new dragon.

2 Responses to “Details of Mopaca”


  1. 1 Meredith March 22, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Ooh, what pretty socks! That pattern works really well with the Melody.

    I really like the Easter egg yarn. I think that if it were in my stash, it would want to become some sort of delicate, lacy neck ornament. But since it’s in your stash, I don’t know what it wants to be.

  2. 2 Fran April 25, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    I love the way the yarn shifts colour so gradually. The socks are gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


