Worth the drive

In addition to all the baby stuff my amazing sister in law (hubby’s sister of the famed “What should I get Kathy for Christmas?  Oh, she likes yarn?  Does she like angora?”) gave to us, she also presented me with this:

She knows someone at work whose dad makes knitting needles out of tulipwood.  So she had some size 6’s made for me.  Then she found out that in addition to knitting and crocheting and quilting, this same lady also wants to learn to spin.  Guess who happened to have a spinning wheel?  Yes, the same amazing sister in law.  So, she gave this lady the spinning wheel, and the lady wanted to pay her, but she said no, so the lady paid her in yarn.  Amazing, wonderful, “good” yarn.  And another pair of needles in size 9, or maybe 8, I’d have to check.

Note on the “good” yarn thing – not that there’s bad yarn, well, some of it is pretty nasty, but I’m totally not a yarn snob or anything, so I wanted to explain.  There’s yarn in there that’s 100% camel.  There’s alpaca/silk blends.  There’s 3 hanks of the same color same dye lot of merino sock yarn, and another huge hank of merino/alpaca sock yarn.  So, not that I don’t love me some good acrylic, like the Dark Horse stuff that is also in there, but man, this is the gooooood stuff.

Now, I’m off to hunt through my stash to find a nice color to whip out a thank you scarf.  Her daughter has already claimed that ribbon yarn for a scarf for her.  I need to get some size 15’s first though.  Good thing Hobby Lobby has needles and hooks on sale this week!

3 Responses to “Worth the drive”


  1. 1 Patti April 9, 2010 at 8:15 am

    Great haul! Looking forward to see what all you create with the gifted yarn.

  2. 2 Meredith April 10, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Nice! I’ve yet to meet a Mirasol yarn I didn’t like; I hope you enjoy knitting with them! And I think I spied some Fleece Artist – same thing goes for their yarns.


  1. 1 Hope this is a sufficient Thank You! « YarnDork Trackback on April 13, 2010 at 2:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


