2010 State Fair and vacation highlights

Ok, I lost a month in here somewhere.  We went on a Disney Cruise, among other things.  While we were gone, the Kansas State Fair happened.  I didn’t get to go at all, but a kind kind friend took my fair entries over there, entered them all for me, drove back a couple weeks later to pick them all up, and gave them back to me at knit night.  Here’s some highlights.

This was my entry into the Benefit Toy for under 3 years old.  I even stuck a jingle bell inside the stuffing, so it’s sort of a rattle.  It won 3rd place!  Public Rav link right here.

This was my entry in the Benefit Toy for over 3.  Can you guess what it is?

A picture of the back might help.

It’s a tooth fairy pillow!  It didn’t win a ribbon, but I know there’s some kid out there who’s gonna love it.  Public Rav link right here.

I started this eons ago and managed to finish it up in time too.

Here’s the ribbed collar close-up.

And this part I’m rather proud of.  Here’s the border close-up.  I did this one here, and I absolutely love how it turned out.

Here’s a pair of red socks I’d had on my queue almost forever.

The heel was very weird, and I don’t think I’ll do it again, but it does fit very well.

As for the cruise, the boys all had a fantastic time.  Castaway Cay is still the most awesome beach I’ve ever visited.  I let Christopher eat some Disney sand.  We went on a bike ride, and took some pictures that I’ll have to put up at some point.   It was there that I actually started Christopher’s baby blanket, and Steve, bless his heart, humored me by taking several pictures of me actually casting on and knitting the first stitch.

We stayed at the Treehouse Villa’s at Saratoga Springs resort afterwards, and wow is that amazing.   Our bathroom was so awesome that we took pictures of it.  Behind that partition there is a seat.  The shower and the tub are both enclosed in that area there, and it’s simply lovely.

I had brought with me a stupid amount of yarn and projects.  I honestly don’t know what sort of reality I think I live in when I’m packing up yarn and projects for a vacation.  I somehow think that vacations are going to be magical and I’m just amazingly going to have all this free time in which to knit or crochet or read or whatever.  I brought so much stuff that I’m even ashamed to admit how much I brought, but here’s a small sampling, along with notes on if I even looked at it or not:

  • Yarn purchased on my birthday for a very special person for a Christmas present.  I can’t go into more detail than that cause she might see it on here.  Let’s just say that the yarn never even came out of the package.
  • Tons of my cotton scraps to make some more bibs for Christopher.  Never happened.
  • Tons of acrylic scraps to make hamsterbeans for 2 of my nieces.  These not only happened, but both were huge hits.  This pattern was amazingly awesome, and I’ll will use it again and again.  My boys all want one too, as well as the niece I made the Minion for.

  • The socks I started for Christopher.  I remember working on them a little bit in the car, but the cruise and FL was so hot I was afraid the yarn was going to felt in my hands if I worked on it down there.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.
  • More yarn for socks for Christopher, for when I finished the other ones.  Cause I just knew I was going to finish the other ones.  Yeah.
  • Maureen’s shrug.  Never touched it.
  • Dulcie’s suede vest thing.  Never touched it.
  • Christopher’s baby blanket yarn.  Started it on Castaway Cay.

And that’s all I’m willing to admit to at this point.  Know how they have Friends of Bill?  I’m wondering if there’s something yarn related out there.  Not that I have a problem or anything.

0 Responses to “2010 State Fair and vacation highlights”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


