Well, that didn’t go as I expected it to

Then again, lots of things don’t go the way I thought they would.  Sometimes that’s for the better.  Take for example the boy I was madly infatuated with when I was 16.  He dumped me the day after Valentine’s Day, right after he attended with my family, my induction into the National Honor Society.  Yes, I’m a nerd.  Wear it proudly.

 

I cried and cried and thought I’d never love again, never get married, never have kids, etc.  Oh, the teenage agnst.

 

Now I’m married to a wonderful (most of the time) amazing (in more ways than one) man, with 4 kids (never saw that one coming).  Sometimes things turn out better than I thought they would.

 

This morning, however, did not.  It got cold last night, and after I convinced kid #1 that he really did need to wear his winter coat and yes, a hat too, I began the process of getting him out the door.  I noticed then that the hat he was wearing was full of holes.  This is the hat I made him last year after he promptly lost the other hat I made him on the very first day he wore it.  He left this one sitting on the floor of his bedroom all summer long.  In a corner.  Where who knows what bugs got to it and ate it up.

 

Now, normally, there’d be several other hat choices for him to wear.  Again, this morning, that was not the case.  I don’t know what’s happened to them.  I’d swear that we have to have at least 15 or so hats that I’ve made over the years since we moved up here from FL, and for some reason, now it appears that there’s like 4.  And most of them are the littler ones I sized down to fit kid #3 who was only 2 when we moved.

 

#1 then announced that he’d wear the trilobite hat I made him last year during our Canadian trip.  Except that kid #2 wore that to school yesterday and left it there.   No one can find the orange-y red and white and turquoise one that #1 wore all the time last year – I’d be willing to bet that it’s laying in another corner of his room somewhere gathering dust and bugs.

 

So, instead of working on my lacy feather and fan socks, instead of working on Jim’s Christmas present, instead of working on Kristen’s Christmas present, instead of working on Kyle’s Christmas present, instead of working on the cushion I’m making to surprise the elementary school librarian for her awesome rocking chair, I’ll bet you can guess what I’m actually doing today.

 

Yep.  Hats.  It’s not what I thought I’d be doing today.

 

And laundry – there’s no escaping that.

 

That’s my life today.  And know what?  I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

 

 

 

Dulcie – don’t know if they get the internet up there, but I wanted to let you know I miss you.  I can’t believe it’s been a year since you left us.   Cancer sucks.

0 Responses to “Well, that didn’t go as I expected it to”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


