Um, hi; remember me?

It’s been recently pointed out to me that the last time I updated my blog was something regarding my broken foot.  A couple of things have happened since then.  I’ll give you the Reader’s Digest Condensed Version here, and give it the old college try at filling in the details in the next few weeks.  No promises though, not with a newborn.

Thing that happened #1 – I finally had it with my OB dr, and fired her at my 36 week appt.  Found a  new Dr and fell in love with her when, upon seeing that my BP was a little high at the appt (I’m thinking due to nerves), she told me that instead of sending me to a non-stress test she just wanted me to lay down on the exam table for a little while and relax and she’d be back to check the bp in a little while.  It went down just fine.  That turned out to be the one and only appt I had with that Dr.

Thing that happened #2 – Baby #5 came along at the 37 and some odd days mark.  Labor went great, boys all behaved great, doula was great, nurses at the hospital were great, Dr arrived about 10 minutes before he was born.  Yes, he.

I am now the proud mom of 5 boys.  Nathan Albert (family names on hubby’s side) was born on April 26 at about 3:30 in the afternoon.  He weighed 6 lbs and 12 oz – my smallest baby ever!  I’m hoping to really flesh out his birth story in the coming weeks, cause it really went WAY WAY better than I had ever hoped it would after learning I’d really have to give birth in a hospital.

Thing that happened #3 – My sister came down for a visit during the boys’ last week of school.  She went to some of the end of year awards stuff with me, and also took me to see the Diana exhibit over at Union Station in Kansas City.  I think I spent about 45 minutes just staring at the wedding dress.  It was awesome.

Thing that happened #4 – Right after school got out, Son #1, the 13 year old, came down with some kind of awful cough thing.  Sounded like bronchitis, but he ran a fever off and on for 3 or 4 days.  Weeks later when we’re getting ready to go on vacation, he still has that stupid cough.

Thing that happened #5 – I caught that cough thing right at the start of the vacation.  Spent one whole day in bed getting up only to pee.  Hubby knew I was sick when he offered to take me yarn shopping and I said no.  Hubby took care of all 5 boys for the better part of 2 days, only bringing me the baby when he needed to nurse.  The rest of the vacation was fairly alright.  We saw the Bennington Battlefield and the Concorde Bridge, walked the Freedom Trail in Boston, visited some of the Smithsonian, saw several monuments and memorials in DC, and visited Yorktown, Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg.  Again, I’m hoping to give more details about the whole thing in the next few weeks.

Thing that happened #6 – Hubby and I “celebrated” our 20th wedding anniversary.  I use quotes cause we literally did absolutely nothing.  It was sort of sad actually.  We were still on vacation, and hoping to leave the 13 year old in charge of the younger 3 and take the baby out with us somewhere.  We were thinking he could handle the 9 year old, the 7 year old, and the 16 month old.  What we failed to take into consideration was that for the past 2 days, we had walked and walked and walked them all around DC, and the 13 year old was practically dead on his feet.  Then we talked about getting everyone in bed, and taking the baby with us, and just running out for ice cream or something.  Then we realized that by the time we did that, we’d be exhausted too.  So, I think we wished each other a Happy Anniversary and kissed and went to bed.  We’ll celebrate at some point.  I hope.

Thing that happened #7 – I think I remember playing with yarn at some point the past few months, but I don’t think I finished much, maybe a crocheted rug

and a pair of socks

or something.  Still working on Chris’ baby blanket, and trying to decide what the heck to do for Nathan’s baby blanket.

I think that about sums it up for now.  I’ll try to get some details up at some point this summer.  Before I forget them all.

1 Response to “Um, hi; remember me?”


  1. 1 The Sensible Seamstress July 3, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Haven’t seen you or the rest of the gang in way too long. This is the first I heard of the wee one. Another boy!! Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


