The best banana muffin/bread recipe EVER

I have used this recipe so many times I almost don’t have to look at the page.  If I remember right, I got it out of a very old Workbasket magazine.  Remember those?  I have most likely made this 100 times, and have never messed it up.  I probably just jinxed myself.  At any point, I wanted to share the recipe in case anyone else has some browning bananas on their kitchen counter.

 

Banana Oat Bread

1/2 c butter or shortening

1/2 c sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 c bananas

1/4 c milk

1 c flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 c oatmeal

Cream together the butter or shortening and sugar, then add in the eggs.  In a separate bowl, mash together the bananas and milk.  ( I used anywhere from 2 to 4 bananas, depending on how many I happen to have that day)

To the sugar/egg/shortening mixture, alternate adding in the banana/milk mixture and the flour and spices.  I usually add in 1/2 c flour and the baking soda and salt and cinn, then about half the bananas, then the other 1/2 c flour, then the rest of the bananas.  Then stir in the oats.  I’ve used both the old fashioned oats and the quick cook kind, and they both work.  I do prefer the old fashioned ones though; it seems like there’s more “meat” to those.

Your batter should be fairly stiff.  If I’ve used more bananas, I usually add in another 1/2 c of oatmeal here.

Grease the baking container of your choice.   This is a lot of batter, so I use either a large loaf pan (those 9 x 5 ones) or 2 smaller ones, or 2 of those mini muffin pans.  I made regular muffins once, but I don’t remember how many of those it made.  It’ll make a huge loaf, or 48 mini’s.  The mini’s bake at 350 for 15 minutes, the loaf for 1 hr to 1 hr and 15 minutes, depending.

I’ve added all sorts of stuff to this as well, and it always is awesome.  We prefer the mini chocolate chips, or butterscotch is also good.  Sometimes I add pecans or walnuts, but not usually, cause the oatmeal adds a nutty texture and flavor without using any nuts.  Also, I add in extra cinnamon and sometimes nutmeg.

If you were going to make this, what would you add?

0 Responses to “The best banana muffin/bread recipe EVER”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


